Lucky Number 13 (and 11)

I purchased my first S-Chassis in 2006 from a friend for $1000 (ten easy payments of $100 a week (thanks Justin)). It was red, automatic and it started an addiction that would soon take over my life. 10 years and 12 S-chassis’ later, I have never loved them more and for the first time ever I get to hold on to TWO of them at one time, and the possibilities are starting to make my head turn.

First the S14 (Number 11). I purchased this car with a shodily-repaired body and a running SR swap for $3500 over 3 years ago and have learned a lot in it, currently awaiting its 4th SR Long Block, it is and always will be a drift car that I drive to some of our vendor booths. I debated getting rid of the car because the “seat time:broken-car down time” ratio has been terrible over the last few years BUT because I love the way the car feels when it does run, I am putting a freshly rebuilt long block in the car and running stock boost on a t25 as usual in my best attempt to keep from blowing up every other event.

Here is how she sits now:

img_1665

img_1659

img_1649

img_1672

img_1688

 

And LUCKY number 13. The unicorn. Because I have been frustrated with a lack of seat time and spent a good year learning how to drive in a KA S14 a while back, Ive been on the look out for a stock S13 to practice in and the call came in from my wife’s family friend who purchased the car NEW and daily drove it for the last 23 years. I am now the second owner of a base model 5 speed coupe with 235K miles, but Ive never felt a transmission so tight and aside from being parked in the sun and getting some oxidation and a cracked dash over the years, you would never think the car is that old or has that kind of mileage. The plan for this car is to hone my skills after being out of the consistent-driving game for too long. Coilovers, a welded diff and bucket seats coming soon along with some looks. For the people that will be mad that Im drifting the car, the dealership did take the car to a 3rd party to put the sunroof in and so it isnt a museum piece… and I dont feel bad for any future damages. Stay tuned.

img_1626img_1624img_1629img_1620img_1614img_1617img_1619

Leave a comment